Webinar: Hot Topics in Aging - Misuse of Medications

June 13, 2018

Time: 10 AM Pacific / Noon Central / 1 PM Eastern

Cost: FREE

Among today's hot topics for providers is avoiding unnecessary rehospitalization. Misuse of medications is one of the leading causes of avoidable hospital and emergency room visits.

In this educational webinar, you'll learn how to advocate for your clients in areas surrounding medications, including:

  • How multiple medications can contribute to falls, side effects, and other potentially avoidable problems
  • How to recognize potential problems and work with Primary Care Providers to resolve
  • What medications may be inappropriate for elderly patients

About the Presenters:

Christopher M. Bland, Pharm.D is a Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy, Southeast campus in Savannah, GA. Dr. Bland’s primary practice is in Infectious Disease and Internal Medicine at St. Joseph/Candler Health System in Savannah, GA. Chris has published in several journals including Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, Journal of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy, Pharmacotherapy, and Clinical Infectious Diseases. Chris received the 2012 Ralph D. Army Pharmacy Research Award. He was also recently named a Fellow of the Infectious Diseases Society of America and is co-founder of the Southeastern Research Group Endeavor.

Sharon Brothers, MSW brings her years of experience in senior care services to her passion as the founder of the Institute for Professional Care Education®. Sharon has an advanced degree in social work and leadership experience in multi-state assisted living corporations. She has been a developer, owner and operator of dementia care assisted living communities and has deep expertise as an educator for all levels of staff within the care profession